

## The Alberta Districts Country Golf Association Tournament Champions

Conducting championships has been core to Alberta Golf's mandate since its inception in 1912. Each year, over a thousand competitors participate in provincial championships. Over the years there have been a number of events that were once a staple of golf in Alberta, but are no longer played.

This is a list of all the winners of the Alberta Districts and Country Tournament which started in 1926 and played its last championship in 1987. This event originally was used as a way to get into the Men's Amateur for good players at the smaller clubs, and players competed for the Herald Cup, named after the Calgary Herald.

A complete breakdown of the year is also available upon request which includes the home course, runner up, and winning team members.

Other events that have been retired include:

- Alberta Family Classic
- AB Team Trials
- The Eaton Rose Bowl
- The Hudson's Bay Inter City Match Play
- The Team Pro Am
- Crown Life National Pro Am (also known as Labatt Lite's National Pro Am

This record book is credited to over the 800 hours of work that was done by Kim Marsh of the Red Deer Golf and Country Club.

Kim's impressive display of dedication and workmanship has allowed Alberta Golf to learn more about its 111-year history and more specifically learn about the championships that have been forgotten about

For more information about this publication please contact Taylor Tracey, Coordinator of Heritage Services at <u>taylor@albertagolf.org</u>

## **Individual Champions**

1926	D.G. Mackenzie
1927	Dave Grossert
1928	W. Tait-White
1929	J. R Rodgers
1930	Lyman Welliver
1931	Mr. F.C Dickins
1932	Jim Weir
1933	W. Tait-White
1934	Unknown
1935	Unknown
1936	Unknown
1937	Gordon (Tony) Savage
1938	Art Barnsley
1939	Frank Mulholland
1940	Stan Howard
1941	Frank Mulholland
1942	Stan Howard
1943	G.R. (Pat) MacFarland
1944	Joseph Welsh
1945	Warren Scott
1946	Cal Scott
1947	Gordon Rutten
1948	Bob MacDonald
1949	Bob Dunlop
1950	Bob MacDonald
1951	Bob Bray
1952	Don Greene
1953	Doug Silverberg
1954	Don Greene
1955	Eddie Schwartz
1956	Mike Douglas

1957	Eddie Schwartz
1958	Wayne Oates
1959	Don Cavers
1960	Eddie Schwartz
1961	Don Cavers
1962	Lloyd Harris
1963	Eddie Schwartz
1964	Don Cavers
1965	Mike Bower
1966	Mark MacKenzie
1967	Mike Mooney
1968	Orv Smeland
1969	Randy Torgerson
1970	Don Haldane
1971	Larry Kemshead
<b>1972</b>	Mr E.W Ted Smith
1973	Cliff Stroh
1974	No Event
1975	Glenn Gray
1976	Chuck Keil
<b>1977</b>	Glenn Gray
<b>1978</b>	Barry Thompson
1979	Glenn Gray
1980	Terry Giltner
1981	Terry Giltner
1982	Terry Giltner
1983	Rick Heenan
1984	Bill Nicholl
1985	Frank Van Dornick
1986	Doug French
<b>1987</b>	Frank Van Dornick

## **Team Champions**

1978	Red Deer
1979	Nanton
1980	Red Deer
1981	Lacombe
1982	Lacombe
1983	Unknown
1984	Jasper
1985	Unknown
1986	Unknown
1987	Unknown