

The Eaton Rose Bowl Four Ball Champions

Conducting championships has been core to Alberta Golf's mandate since its inception in 1912. Each year, over a thousand competitors participate in provincial championships. Over the years there have been an number of events that were once a staple of golf in Alberta, but are no longer played.

This is a list of all the winners of the Eaton Rose Bowl Four Ball Tournament. This was a season long event played in the North and South half of Alberta each week, with the team from each region who held the trophy the most times during the season facing off at the Red Deer Golf and Country Club for provincial bragging rights. The Rose Bowl was presided over by Alberta Golf Pioneer Tom Scott.

A complete breakdown of the year is also available upon request which includes the home city.

Other events that have been retired include:

- Alberta Family Classic
- AB Team Trials
- The Alberta Districts Country Golf Association Tournament
- The Hudson's Bay Inter City Match Play
- The Team Pro Am
- Crown Life National Pro Am (also known as Labatt Lite's National Pro Am

This record book is credited to over the 800 hours of work that was done by Kim Marsh of the Red Deer Golf and Country Club.

Kim's impressive display of dedication and workmanship has allowed Alberta Golf to learn more about its 111-year history and more specifically learn about the championships that have been forgotten about

For more information about this publication please contact Taylor Tracey, Coordinator of Heritage Services at <u>taylor@albertagolf.org</u>

Eaton Rose Bowl Four Ball Champions

1934	Bert Greer/Billy Hudson	1965	Doug Silverberg/Buddy Loftus
1935	Stewart Vickers/Jack Cuthbert	1966	Joe Olson/John Kilburn
1936	Bob Proctor/Whit Matthews	1967	Doug Silverberg/Buddy Loftus
1937	Henry Martell/Burns Martell	1968	Doug Silverberg/Keith Alexander
1938	Henry Martell/Burns Martell	1969	Henry Martell/Clyde Martell
1939	Bob Proctor/Ted West	1970	Bob Bradburn Jr/Joe Olson
1940	Duane Barr/Cal Scott	1971	Roger Klatt/Flory Herbrick
1941	Henry Martell/Burns Martell	1972	Ray Milne/Ken Tamke
1942	No Competition	1973	Ray Milne/Ken Tamke
1943	No Competition	1974	Roger Klatt/Dave Kolscog
1944	No Competition	1975	Norm Gray /Ken Wasslen
1945	No Competition	1976	Doug Lecuyer/Bill Carrington
1946	Henry Martell/Burns Martell	1977	Ray Milne/Ken Tamke
1947	Henry Martell/Burns Martell	1978	Roger Klatt/Dave Kolscog
1948	Henry Martell/Burns Martell	1979	Keith Alexander/Ken Wasslen
1949	Henry Martell/Burns Martell	1980	Neal Connell/Mike Loftus
1950	Henry Martell/Burns Martell	1981	Doug Lecuyer/Bill Carrington
1951	Henry Martell/Burns Martell	1982	Norm Gray /Ken Wasslen
1952	Henry Martell/Burns Martell	1983	Doug Lecuyer/Jeff Gauf
1953	Henry Martell/Burns Martell	1984	Unknown
1954	Henry Martell/Burns Martell	1985	Doug Gahn/Mike Loftus
1955	Bob Wylie/Bill Tait	1986	Doug Gahn/Mike Loftus
1956	Joe Ferguson/Norm Hudson	1987	Doug Lecuyer/Jim Goulet
1957	Doug Silverberg/Mike Pyke	1988	Tied due to Darkness*
1958	Henry Martell/Jim Harper	1989	Harold Pasechnik/Frank Sutton
1959	Doug Silverberg/Mike Pyke	1990	Frank Van Dornick/Gary Biddell
1960	Doug Silverberg/Mike Pyke	1991	Doug Lecuyer/Kevin White
1961	Frank Fowler/Eddie Schwartz	1992	Harold Pasechnik/Keith Alexander
1962	Henry Martell/Jim Harper	1993	Frank Van Dornick/Paul Fraser
1963	Del Lee/Len Brayton	1994	Ron Mercier/John Saunders
1964	Bob Wylie/Buddy Loftus	1995	Unknown

*Tie was between Frank Van Dornick/Gary Biddell & Laurie Scott/Gary MacLennan