

The Marg Ward Championship

Conducting championships has been core to Alberta Golf's mandate since its inception in 1912. Each year, over a thousand competitors participate in provincial championships. Over the years there have been a number of events that were once a staple of golf in Alberta, but are no longer played.

This is a list of all the winners of the Marg Ward Championship. The Marg Ward Championship began in 1967 after the passing of Marg Ward, an avid golfer and curler from the Derrick Club in Edmonton. Marg always believed that everyone including high-handicap female golfers should have the chance to compete, so when she passed her husband, George Ward, decided to run the tournament in her honour. It's unclear when the tournament was adopted by the ALGA, but the ALGA's goal of running tournaments that were fun for all made the Marg Ward an automatic fit.

The trophy was awarded to the Low Net winner at the Women's Senior Championship every year.

A list of host clubs can also be provided upon request.

Other events that have been retired include:

- Alberta Family Classic
- Eaton Rose Bowl Four Ball Challenge
- The Alberta Districts Country Golf Association Tournament
- The Hudson's Bay Inter City Match Play
- The Team Pro Am
- Crown Life National Pro Am (also known as Labatt Lite's National Pro Am

A special thank you to Sue Paulson and Stu Ward, Marg's daughter and son, for their help with Alberta Golf's research into the Marg Ward Championship and their openness to share their family's story.

For more information about this publication please contact Taylor Tracey, Coordinator of Heritage Services at taylor@albertagolf.org

Marg Ward Trophy – Senior Ladies Low Net Championship

1988	Maureen Westlake	2004	Sandy Krenning
1989	Joan Moore	2005	Diane Williams
1990	Sheila Wood	2006	Joanne Saunders
1991	Nanette Fritz	2007	Lynda Holizki
1992	Patty Newman	2008	Jacquie Sinclair
1993	Patty Newman	2009	Olivia Higgs
1994	Glenda Pytlarz	2010	Jean Nitchke
1995	Fran Marsden	2011	Karen Saunders
1996	Carol Ann Faulkner	2012	Joanne Ladner
1997	Sylvia Day	2013	Jackie Little
1998	Marilyn O'Connor	2014	Maureen Turner
1999	Dorothy Wright	2015	He Soo Kim
2000	Joyce Carrington	2016	Karen Kloske
2001	Lyn McKeeman	2017	Barbara Flaman
2002	Lee Meadows	2018	Susan Plum
2003	Karen Bristow		